[Agda] UTP-2014 Unifying Theories of Programming - call for papers

David Naumann naumann at cs.stevens.edu
Fri Dec 20 22:22:42 CET 2013

     5th International Symposium on Unifying Theories of Programming
                       co-located with FM2014
                          May 12 - 13, 2014


Interest in the fundamental problem of the combination of formal notations and 
theories of programming has grown consistently in recent years.  The theories 
define, in various different ways, many common notions, such as abstraction, 
refinement, choice, termination, feasibility, locality, concurrency and 
communication.  Despite these differences, such theories may be unified in a 
way which greatly facilitates their study and comparison.  Moreover, such a 
unification offers a means of combining different languages describing various 
facets and artifacts of software development in a seamless, logically 
consistent way.

Hoare and He's Unifying Theories of Programming (UTP) is widely acknowledged as 
one of the most significant such unification approaches. Based on their 
pioneering work, the aims of the UTP Symposium series are to reaffirm the 
significance of the ongoing UTP project and to stimulate efforts to advance. 
The Symposium provides a focus for the sharing of results by those already 
actively contributing, and raises awareness of the benefits of such unifying 
theoretical frameworks among the wider computer science and software 
engineering communities.

To this end the Symposium welcomes contributions on all the themes that can be 
related to the Unifying Theories of Programming.


Papers may be up to 20 pages in length and should be prepared using LaTeX in 
Springer LNCS paper format.  Submissions should be made through the UTP 2014 
EasyChair site; instructions are at http://www.comp.nus.edu.sg/~pat/UTP2014


Symposium post-proceedings will appear in Springer's Lectures Notes in Computer 
Science, as in past editions of the Symposium. (To be confirmed.)


Abstract due:                     January 17, 2014
Full paper due:                   January 24, 2014
Notification:                     March 7, 2014
Camera-ready for pre-proceedings: April 11, 2014
Symposium:                        May 12-13, 2014


David Naumann (Stevens Institute of Technology)


Jin Song DONG (National University of Singapore)


Bernhard K. Aichernig (Graz University of Technology)
Hugh Anderson (National University of Singapore)
Jonathan P. Bowen (Birmingham City University)
Ana Cavalcanti (University of York)
Andrew Butterfield (Trinity College Dublin)
Leo Freitas (Newcastle University)
Jeremy Gibbons (University of Oxford)
Lindsay Groves (Victoria University of Wellington)
Walter Guttmann (University of Canterbury)
Ian Hayes (University of Queensland)
Jeremy Jacob (University of York)
Zhiming Liu (Birmingham City University)
David Naumann, chair (Stevens Institute of Technology)
Marcel Oliveira (Universidade Federal do Rio Grande do Norte)
Geguang Pu (East China Normal University)
Shengchao Qin (Teesside University)
Georg Struth (University of Sheffield)
Jun Sun (Singapore University of Technology and Design)
Meng Sun (Peking University)
Burkhart Wolff (University of Paris-Sud)
Naijun Zhan (Chinese Academy of Sciences)
Huibiao Zhu (East China Normal University)


FM 2014, the 19th International Symposium on Formal Methods

More information about the Agda mailing list