[Agda] CiE 2013 in Milan - Special Awards and Call for Papers

S B Cooper pmt6sbc at maths.leeds.ac.uk
Sun Dec 23 22:44:03 CET 2012


                  CiE 2013: The Nature of Computation:
                     Logic, Algorithms, Applications

                              Milan, Italy

                           July  1 - 5, 2013



Submission Deadline for LNCS:                   20 January 2013
Notification of authors:                        4 March 2013
Deadline for final revisions:                   1 April 2013

CiE 2013 is the ninth conference organised by CiE (Computability in
Europe), a European association of mathematicians, logicians, computer
scientists, philosophers, physicists and others interested in new
developments in computability and their underlying significance for the
real world. Previous meetings have taken place in Amsterdam (2005),
Swansea (2006), Siena (2007), Athens (2008), Heidelberg (2009), Ponte
Dalgada (2010), Sofia (2011) and Cambridge (2012).

The Nature of Computation is meant to emphasize the special focus of CIE13
on the unexpected and strong changes that studies on Nature have
brought in several areas of mathematics, biology, physics, and computer 
science. Starting from Alan Turing, research on Nature with a 
computational perspective has produced novel contributions, giving 
rise even to new disciplines.


Springer-Verlag has graciously funded two awards that will be given during
the CiE 2013 Conference.

Best student paper:

This prize will be awarded for the best student paper presented at CiE
2013, as judged by the Program Committee. A prize of 500 euros will be
given to the author(s) of the best student-authored paper (or split
between more than one paper if there is a tie). In order to be considered,
a paper has to be submitted in the category 'Regular paper (eligible for
best student paper award)' on EasyChair. Papers are eligible if all of its
authors are full-time students at the time of submission.

Best paper on Natural Computing:

The prize consists of the  four volumes of the Handbook of Natural
Computing (see http://cie2013.disco.unimib.it/awards/).
This prize will be awarded to the best paper on Natural Computing
presented at CiE 2013, as judged by the Program Committee.
A paper is eligible if its main topic falls within the scope of Natural
Computing, roughly defined as the set of fields studied in the above
handbook. The Program Committee is the only judge of the  relevance  of a
paper within the Natural Computing scope. The authors of a paper eligible
for the award must indicate this in the submission notes.


Ulle Endriss (University of Amsterdam)
Lance Fortnow (Georgia Institute of Technology)
Anna Karlin (University of Washington)
Bernard Moret (Ecole Polytechnique Federale de Lausanne)
Mariya Soskova (Sofia University)
Endre Szemeredi (Hungarian Academy of Sciences, Rutgers University)

Gilles Brassard (Universite de Montreal)
Grzegorz Rozenberg (Leiden Institute of Advanced Computer Science and
University of Colorado at Boulder)


Algorithmic Randomness
         organizers: Mathieu Hoyrup, Andre Nies
Data Streams and Compression
         organizers: Paolo Ferragina, Andrew McGregor
Computational Complexity in the Continuous World
         organizers: Akitoshi Kawamura, Robert Rettinger
Computational Molecular Biology
         organizers: Alessandra Carbone, Jens Stoye
Computation in Nature
         organizers: Mark Delay, Natasha Jonoska
History of Computation
         organizers: Gerard Alberts, Liesbeth De Mol


* Gerard Alberts (Amsterdam)          * Luis Antunes (Porto)
* Arnold Beckmann (Swansea)           * Laurent Bienvenu (Paris)
* Paola Bonizzoni (Milan, co-chair)   * Vasco Brattka (Munich and Cape
Town, co-chair)
* Cameron Buckner (Houston TX)        * Bruno Codenotti (Pisa)
* Stephen Cook (Toronto ON)           * S Barry Cooper (Leeds)
* Ann Copestake (Cambridge)	      * Erzsebet Csuhaj-Varju (Budapest)
* Anuj Dawar (Cambridge)              * Gianluca Della Vedova (Milan)
* Liesbeth De Mol (Gent)              * Jerome Durand-Lose (Orleans)
* Viv Kendon (Leeds)                  * Bjoern Kjos-Hanssen (Honolulu, HI)
* Antonina Kolokolova (St. John's NF) * Benedikt Loewe (Amsterdam)
* Giancarlo Mauri (Milan)             * Rolf Niedermeier (Berlin)
* Geoffrey Pullum (Edinburgh)	      * Nicole Schweikardt (Frankfurt)
* Sonja Smets (Amsterdam)             * Susan Stepney (York)
* S. P. Suresh (Chennai)              * Peter van Emde Boas (Amsterdam)

The PROGRAMME COMMITTEE cordially invites all researchers (European and
non-European) in computability related areas to submit their papers (in
PDF format, max 10 pages using the LNCS style) for presentation at CiE
The submission site https://www.easychair.org/conferences/?conf=cie2013 is
We particularly invite papers that build bridges between different
parts of the research community.

The CONFERENCE PROCEEDINGS will be published by LNCS, Springer Verlag.

Contact: Paola Bonizzoni - bonizzoni at disco.unimib.it
Website: http://cie2013.disco.unimib.it

More information about the Agda mailing list