[Agda] Alan Turing Centenary Conference, University of Manchester, 22-25 June, 2012

S B Cooper pmt6sbc at maths.leeds.ac.uk
Mon Feb 27 14:25:56 CET 2012

Manchester, UK, June 22-25, 2012

First announcement and call for submissions


(1) Ten Turing Award winners, a Templeton Award winner and
    Garry Kasparov as invited speakers
(2) 20,000 pounds worth best paper award program, including
    5,000 pounds best paper award
(3) Three panels and two public lectures
(4) Turing Fellowship award ceremony
(5) and many more ...

For more details please check


Confirmed invited speakers:

- Fred Brooks (University of North Carolina)
- Rodney Brooks (MIT)
- Vint Cerf (Google) 
- Ed Clarke (Carnegie Mellon University) 
- Jack Copeland (University of Canterbury, New Zealand) 
- George Francis Rayner Ellis (University of Cape Town)
- David Ferrucci (IBM)
- Tony Hoare (Microsoft Research)
- Garry Kasparov (Kasparov Chess Foundation)
- Don Knuth (Stanford University)
- Yuri Matiyasevich (Institute of Mathematics, St. Petersburg)
- Roger Penrose (Oxford)
- Adi Shamir (Weizmann Institute of Science)
- Michael Rabin (Harvard)
- Leslie Valiant (Harvard)
- Manuela M. Veloso (Carnegie Mellon University)
- Andrew Yao (Tsinghua University)

Confirmed panel speakers:

- Ron Brachman (Yahoo Labs)
- Steve Furber (The University of Manchester)
- Carole Goble (The University of Manchester)
- Pat Hayes (Institute for Human and Machine Cognition, Pensacola)
- Bertrand Meyer (Swiss Federal Institute of Technology)
- Moshe Vardi (Rice University)


Submissions are welcome in all areas related to the work of
Alan Turing in computer science, mathematics, cognitive science
and mathematical biology. A non-exclusive list of topics is
shown below:

- computation theory
- logic in computation
- artificial intelligence
- social aspects of computation
- models of computation
- program analysis
- mathematics of evolution and emergence
- knowledge processing
- natural language processing
- cryptography
- machine learning

See http://www.turing100.manchester.ac.uk/index.php/submission
for more details.


A subset of poster session submissions will be selected as
candidates for best paper awards:
- The best paper award of 5,000 pounds
- The best young researcher best paper award of 3,000 pounds
- The second best paper award of 2,500 pounds 
- The second best young researcher best paper award of 1,500 pounds
- Sixteen (16) awards of 500 pounds each

See http://www.turing100.manchester.ac.uk/index.php/submission/bestpaper
for more details.


The number of participants is limited. Register early to avoid


February 23:	Paper submission opens
March 1:	Registration opens
March 15:	Extended abstract submission deadline
March 29:	Poster session notification and selection of candidates 
for the best paper awards
April 20:	Full versions of papers selected for the best paper awards
May 1:		Final versions of poster session papers
May 21:      	Best paper award decisions
May 28: 	Final versions of papers selected for the best paper awards
June 22-25:	Conference


Honorary Chairs:
  Rodney Brooks (MIT)
  Roger Penrose (Oxford)
Conference Chairs:
  Matthias Baaz (Vienna University of Technology)
  Andrei Voronkov (The University of Manchester)
Turing Fellowships Chair:
  Barry Cooper (University of Leeds)
Programme Chair
  Andrei Voronkov (The University of Manchester)

The Alan Turing Year 

More information about the Agda mailing list